What your insurance agent didn’t tell you!
- Under Florida law, if you have a $2,000.00 deductible on your personal injury protection coverage, you cannot recover this amount of your medical bills from the person responsible for the accident. The cost of a no or zero deductible policy is very inexpensive, when weighed against the cost of having a deductible when an accident occurs.
- A great many of the drivers in the State of Florida do not carry insurance for personal injury, or have no insurance at all. Most companies sell uninsured and underinsured motorist protection coverage. This protects you in the event that you are hit by a driver who does not carry insurance to cover your damages.
- Florida law only requires that a person carry personal injury protection insurance and property damage insurance. There is no requirement that anyone must carry insurance to compensate another that they injure in an accident!
- We suggest that you review your insurance policy and make sure it includes the following coverages:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage without a deductible”
PIP will typically pay 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages.
Personal Injury Pro Medical Payments coverage of at least $2,000.00″
This will fill in the 20% remaining of your medical bills. This insurance when used in conjunction with Personal Injury Protection coverage will pay 100% of your medical bills.
Uninsured Motorist Protection Insurance
This insurance will pay for your personal injury in the event the person who injures you does not carry insurance to compensate you for your loss.